A Poem 4 Years in the Making

I started writing this poem in February of 2014. When I say that this poem is 4 years in the making, I don’t mean that for 4 years straight I worked on it. Instead, over the years, I would tweak something here or there. But I have never finished it until today.

I simply entitled it, “The Gospel”.

As I walked down the road,
In the darkness of night,
I saw how the sky showed,
His beauty so bright.

How could this be,
That a God so vast,
Would set me free,
And forgive my past?

That God who made,
The heavens and the earth,
Would come to my aid,
And give me new birth.

We were created by Him,
Yet in our arrogance,
We sinned against Elohim,
In an act of defiance.

Though we missed the mark,
Rebelled against his perfection,
He chose to embark,
On a mission of redemption.

The relationship had been broken,
Because of our pride,
Death is what was spoken,
Creating the great divide.

Between God and man,
Sin did separate,
Yet he gave us his plan,
By which he would operate.

Through death and deception,
Murder amidst creation,
He promised conception,
That would deliver salvation.

Foreseen and foretold,
God pledged a Messiah,
He spoke through people of old,
Men like Isaiah and Jeremiah.

Yet through these announcements,
They still rejected,
And disregarded their accounts,
God’s Word they neglected.

That’s when he came,
The promised Christ,
To take away our shame,
And to pay the price.

By miracles and healing,
He proclaimed the Kingdom,
He was revealing,
God’s manifest Wisdom.

Yet betrayed and arrested,
On the cross He bled and died,
By His people–rejected,
Forgiveness, he did provide.

Mercifully He took our place,
Without doing any wrong,
In order to show us grace,
The grave would not hold him long.

In light of this,
From your sin turn,
And find the bliss,
Of avoiding what you earned.

Recognize your sin,
Trust in his great act,
New life will begin,
And that’s a fact.

Sin and death had no chance,
Going up against the Savior,
It looked hopeless at first glance,
But the odds are never against the Creator.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close